When it comes to booster seats for kids, there are a lot of different requirements and laws across the United States. In North Carolina, there are specific guidelines that must be followed in order to ensure your child’s safety while traveling in a car. Here is what you need to know about booster seat laws in NC.
Booster seats are required for certain children under eight years of age and those who weigh less than 80 pounds. If your child is younger than eight, he or she must be in a booster seat unless he or she:
- Is more than four feet nine inches tall
- Is 80 pounds or more and eight years old (in which case, he or she would be permitted to use a booster seat only with the additional requirement of being restrained by a safety belt)
If your child meets any one of those stipulations, then they do not have to sit in a booster seat.
You can find the entire NC laws here.
Let’s now look at specific booster seat requirements in NC for weight, age, and height, among others.
Booster seat weight requirements NC
In North Carolina, booster seats are also required for children who weigh less than 80 pounds. If your child falls into this category, it is important to make sure that he or she is using a booster seat that is appropriate for his or her weight.
Booster car seat age requirement North Carolina
In North Carolina, booster seats are required for children who are younger than 8 years old or weigh less than 80 pounds.
In order for booster seats to be used, they must meet the following requirements:
- Be placed in the back seat
Have a lap belt and shoulder strap that fits correctly The booster seat cannot have any type of damage or missing pieces in order for it to protect your child in case of an accident
When you are purchasing booster seats, make sure that they are recommended by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHSTA). Also, make sure that the booster seats are labeled with the manufacturer’s weight and height guidelines.
The booster seat can be used in most vehicles; however, if you are using a booster seat in a vehicle with inflatable restraints (airbags), then the booster must be placed out of an airbag area. These booster seats can usually be identified by the label, “This booster seat is recommended for use in vehicles equipped with airbags.”
Be sure to also check your vehicle owner’s manual or contact your local car dealership to see if there are any instructions about booster seats in your car model.
Getting pulled over with an un-belted child in a booster seat could result in a fine. The booster seat must be strapped into a car to count as being restrained, so it is best practice to have your child sit in the booster seat when traveling anywhere.
Drivers who fail to abide by booster seat requirements can get pulled over and get fined between $25-$50 per incident.
Backless Booster Seat laws NC
There are no specific laws in North Carolina that address backless booster seats, but booster seats, in general, are required for children who are younger than 8 years old or weigh less than 80 pounds. It is important to make sure that your child is using a booster seat that is appropriate for his or her weight, and that the booster seat meets the requirements listed above.
Booster Seat Laws NC 2020,21/22
The laws above were put in place in 2004 and that hasn’t changed since then. There have been no recent changes in NC booster seat laws in NC in 2020, 2021, or 2022.
- About the Author
- Latest Posts
- More info
Naomi Lambert is a mother of two and an elementary school teacher leading our product quality review here at Motherhood HQ. Naomi has a degree in Elementary Teaching from the University of Utah. She has also worked as a product tester for Consumer Reports. Naomi enjoys reading and getting immersed in new research, especially on topics related to parenting and pets. When she’s not reading or testing baby gear, Naomi enjoys hiking in the midwest and hanging out with her two dog pets. Naomi is originally from Salt Lake City, Utah.
Naomi work leading baby gear/product testing:
To test new gear before we review here at Motherhood HQ, Naomi goes through a multi-step process that includes reading up on the latest research, conducting her own hands-on testing, and evaluating the results. She also consults with experts in the field, such as pediatricians, to get their input. This comprehensive approach ensures that our reviews are accurate and helpful for our readers.
Testing involves using the gear with her own children, as well as observing other parents using the products. Ms. Lambert looks for safety concerns, ease of use, and whether the product actually lives up to its claims. She also takes into account the price of the product and whether it is a good value for what you get.
After testing a product, Naomi writes up her findings in a review. She includes both the positive and negative aspects of the product, as well as her own personal recommendations. Her reviews are honest and unbiased, and they can help you make informed decisions about which products are right for your family.
Aggregating Other real-user reviews from other moms:
A critical process in our reviews is incorporating feedback from other moms who have used the products we are testing. To get this information, we talk to parents in our networks and consult with product-specific experts.These experts must have published work in the field of early childhood development, have worked extensively with the product in question, or have significant experience in the manufacturing or design of the product.
We also read online reviews from other parents, but we take these with a grain of salt. We recognize that many online reviewers are not objective and that some may be biased because they were given the product for free or paid to write a review. For this reason, we only consider online reviews after they have been vetted by our team of experts.
If you are a parent who has used a product that we are interested in reviewing, we would love to hear from you! You can contact us at naomi.lam@motherhood